Mike and Marvin began playing together after meeting through their work with the Westchester Jazz Orchestra.  Regular Sunday afternoon duo sessions nurtured a close friendship, and a unique musical connection.  When joined by bassist Mike McGuirk and drummer Dennis Mackrel, the scope of their intimate conversation expanded, resulting in a deeply satisfying interactive dialogue.  As the group evolved into a regular “working” quartet, Maureen’s Jazz Cellar in Nyack NY became their favorite place to play.  The club’s intimate scale, and the genuine warmth of the audience and staff, made it a perfect setting for the group’s musical concept.  When the club’s owner David Budway suggested a live recording, it seemed like a natural fit.  And this is the result:  four established artists, each a virtuoso unto himself, caught “in the moment,” playing the music they love.  The intimate interplay of the group is its signature characteristic, revealing how closely they are listening, and how much they are attuned to one another.   The tracks, which include two originals and several familiar jazz standards, evolve with remarkable synchronicity. This is a set of pure "blowing," and extraordinary group empathy. It is blatantly honest, devoid of ego or attitude, and exemplifies what jazz is meant to be:  traditional in its roots, yet modern, beautiful and swinging.  On this session, you can hear why when jazz artists “work,” it’s called “playing.”

Recorded live @ Maureen’s Jazz Cellar  
Nyack, New York  
December 20, 2019  

Special thanks to Maureen’s Jazz Cellar owners and staff:  David Budway, Brianne Higgins, Fiona Karen, and Jimmy Winans

Recording Engineer:   John Guth  
Mixing:  John Guth, Marvin Stamm,  Mike Holober  
Mastering: John Guth  
Cover Art:   Matt Ferranto  
Produced by Marvin and Mike


  1. Out of the Night Came You (Horace Silver – Ecaroh Music Inc.) 10:56 
  2. Invitation (Bronislau Kaper – EMI Robbins Catalog Inc.) 14:46 
  3. Dear Virginia (Mike Holober – Connect the Dots Music/BMI) 8:39 
  4. Morning Hope (Mike Holober – Connect the Dots Music/BMI) 10:44 
  5. All the Things You Are (Jerome Kern – Polygram International Pub. Inc.) 11:08 
  6. Peace (Horace Silver – Ecaroh Music Inc.) 10:48 
  7. Funkallero (Bill Evans – Folkways Music Publishers) 6:56

Bonus track (digital only):  You Stepped Out of a Dream (Nacio Herb Brown – EMI Feist Catalog Inc.) 12:01

    Latest Music